Productivity Challenge Day 5: Summary of the Productivity Challenge.

38 days left.

So the challenge was… an underachievement (I refuse to use the word failure because I didn’t fail: I learned a few things). The only day I actually hit 5 work-hours was Day 2, Thursday. I didn’t use the internet less than 2 hours every day (and if I did, then I was reading romance novels for eight hours. Never let it be said that I am not gifted in the art of frittering away my life.)

So, because I was lacking in the simple self-discipline of making myself work for 20 minutes at a time 16 times a day, I refused to write a blog post as well.

Okay, well, I wrote a pointless blog post every day for a year. (You can see it at http://wywamino.blogspot.com) And those blog posts only had a word requirement. These blog posts will help me make something of the nonsensical directions my life seems to be taking. I hope.

I realize I’m getting off the point. I didn’t sleep much last night and I have a headache now. I’ll cut to the chase. These are the things I learned: 

  • The more you put something off, the more icky you feel later. (The price of self-discipline is always less than the pain of regret. I have no idea who said this first, but it’s definitely true.)

You’d think I’d have learned this before now. It’s been presented many, many, many times over the past two years (at least). But I haven’t learned it yet. And, as in Cherie Carter-Scott’s Ten Rules for Being Human “Lessons are repeated until they are learned. A lesson will be presented to you in various forms until you have learned it. When you have learned it, you can go on to the next lesson.”

Obviously, I haven’t learned this lesson yet. Maybe next week.

Summary of the Productivity Challenge:

“Work 5 hours a day. Write 2 short essays, 1 long essay, and add 10 events to the historical timeline a day. Spend less than 2 hours on the internet a day.”

Summary of my progress:

5 things to do. 5 days. I completed 1 of those things on 1 day. So, 4% progress.

The next challenge:

One thing I think I have learned is that you have to try new ways of doing things, and that you can’t give up. Funny, I hadn’t thought of that until now. So the next challenge. Do one big thing each day. This challenge will run from April 1st, Monday, to April 7th, Sunday.

Tomorrow’s big thing: Write a 30-point 150-300 word essay in literature.

Leave a Reply

