Productivity Challenge Day 2: Semi-Success

42 days left.

I may or may not have mentioned this, but I use an iPod app called Eternity. It tracks your time for you. I’ve been using it since October to track every single action I do. This is how I know exactly how much time I’ve been spending on what… and it helps me piece together what I’ve been doing.

So, without further ado.

Today started off fantastically. I woke up, and the first thing I did was reach for my history book. Instead of twenty minutes, I read for 25. I got up, said my prayers, and got back into bed to read a romance novel. After all, until 8am, I had time to do WHATEVER I wanted.

At 8am I got up, went to my desk (still in my pajamas) and answered biology questions for 23 minutes. 

Then I had breakfast. Simply working at schoolwork for 48 minutes before breakfast hasn’t happened to me in years. I was… crazy happy. Jumping around, bouncing, etc. 

The day progressed pretty slowly. We live next to a church where the bells start ringing from 7:25 in the morning to 9:30 at night, every half hour. So whenever the bell started pealing for :00, I set aside what I was doing, picked out a subject, and went to work for 20 minutes. Sometimes I worked more than 20 minutes, but mostly I stuck to the schedule of ‘learn, break, learn, break, learn, break.’

(I’m trying not to make this a blow-by-blow account, but it’s hard to think of a way to make this interesting).

All went well until lunch time. Before starting school, I asked that Mom restrict the lunch hour from 1pm to 2pm. We only ever spend 25-35 minutes at the table, but this allows Mom some leeway in case a meal doesn’t want to be finished exactly at 1pm, and it allows me to block off an entire hour for a break. But– the current schedule asked that I work from 1pm to 1:20pm. Lunch started promptly at 1pm, so I set aside work and went down to eat. I returned to my studies only at 2:30pm, to do some history. I basically managed to catch up to my current time until 4pm, when I decided to ‘skive off’ a bit more. When I sat back down to do physics, I got a FB message.

A friend who had his wisdom teeth taken out had PMed me to ask if I was busy. I said, ‘no, I’m just doing some physics problems on and off.’ He said he was just looking for some conversation, because he couldn’t do anything but lie down with his face on ice. So I offered to give him a summary of what I’d learned in history so far. Not only would it help me (history is in Romanian and he only speaks English; I’d have to not only organize the material, but translate it as well), but it would give him something to do.

So, skipping around my basic knowledge (ancient origins of Romanians —straight to—>  revolts and kingdoms in 1800s+), I gave him what I knew. It was really helpful, because by translating, I had to look up certain things, make sure I had them right. I got to cement the knowledge I already had.

Afterward, I totally relaxed until about 10pm, when I read a bit more of history.

Total work hours: 5:17:48

Total internet time: 4:26:44

Total events added to timeline: 1.

Total essays written: 0 (I outlined two, though: one for literature and one for history)

This is already getting too long, so I’ll just say that, despite the fact that I spent 4 hours on the internet… (this is really important) IT WAS LESS TIME THAN I SPENT STUDYING!

I’m really happy with today.

Tomorrow all I’m going to try is to make sure that I’m actually getting an essay written. I think 5 extra minutes for thinking out an essay will help, instead of trying to put it all into one block. It’s really hard to find examples.

Leave a Reply

